Welcome to the Transportation Department

The Powhatan County Transportation Department operates from 3975 Old Buckingham Road . We have a director, a secretary, shop foreman, 3 mechanics, a custodian, 78 drivers, 3 assistants, and 9 substitute drivers. There are 18 High School routes, 33 Middle/ Junior High routes, 33 Elementary routes, and 5 Special Needs routes. Of the Middle/Junior High and Elementary routes, 21 are run as double runs.

Our first pick up is 6:25 in the morning and our last drop off is 4:50 in the afternoon. We average 40 students per bus. This means we transport around 3500 students daily. We make every effort to be as safe as possible. Your role in this is to follow the Code of Conduct as approved by the Powhatan County School Board. The discipline on the bus is handled by the drivers and any excessive unsafe behaviors are turned over to the administration of the appropriate school.

Contact Us (Email)

Transportation Department - 804-598-5706 and 804-598-5709
Howard McCoy - Dispatcher - Extension #1
Brian Herbert - Transportation Supervisor - Extension #2
Nora Cosner - Specialist Secretary - Extension #3
Brian Bartlett - Bus Garage Supervisor - Extension #4